Fit Friday Motivation ~ 10.13.17

ccadd155489744acbde4faabf326a122

Happy Friday the 13th! The weekend is finally upon us, and I don’t know about you, but I’m counting down until I’m off to spend time doing the things I love the most with the people I love the most.

I thought this meme was perfect for my Fit Friday post.  How true is it?!  When I tell someone who doesn’t run how much I absolutely love running, one of the things I hear most is “oh I could never do that; I don’t like to exercise that much.”  And of course my response is always that, to me, running really isn’t exercise.  Well technically it is (and it’s a great workout at that), but it’s so much more than “just exercise.”  It’s free therapy.  It’s the greatest self-esteem booster there is.  It’s a great motivator.  It’s an endorphin rush.  It’s an instant mood lifter.  It’s a mind clearer.  It’s an anxiety reducer.  It’s a stress reliever.  I could go on and on about the mental and emotional benefits of running– there are so, so many.  Although I appreciate the physical benefits too, the mental and emotional benefits are what first got me hooked on running and what keep me coming back for more miles.  It’s hard to explain to anyone that doesn’t run, but once you’ve experienced the “runner’s high,” it becomes a (healthy) addiction.

What are your weekend plans?  I’m running one of my favorite local 5K’s tomorrow morning, followed by a well-deserved buckwheat pancake breakfast with my family! I’ll be sure to recap the race sometime next week.  Have a great weekend. =)

Leave a Reply

