Back at It

After taking an embarrassingly long hiatus from running, working out, blogging, and all-things-healthy in general, I’m finally getting back into the swing of things, and feeling more and more like myself again in the process.  I wish I could say I had a good excuse for taking such a long break, and typically I try to chalk it up to having two-under-two, with my youngest just having turned five months old a few days ago.  Yes, things are very busy in my household at the moment.  And yes, I have been pregnant for the better part of the past three years.  But, in all reality, I have no excuse for falling off the bandwagon.

I worked out fairly regularly when I was pregnant with my first daughter, and I continued to eat healthy foods well into my third trimester.  Although life hit a rough patch after she arrived (difficult delivery, postpartum/seasonal depression issues, insane sleep deprivation, the list goes on…), I was determined to get back in shape as soon as possible.  Although I felt like I had lost a lot of my fitness, I was still able to {slowly} run one of my favorite half marathons at 6 months postpartum (read my recap here).  I knew it would take time, but I was determined to bounce back to my former fitness levels.

When I found out I was pregnant yet again when H was just 9 months old, all of that determination went out the window.  I was tired.  I was busy.  And I just didn’t have it in me to keep reaching for my fitness goals.  I really wanted to be back in good shape before getting pregnant again, but when that didn’t happen, I let it deter me from even trying to sustain the level of fitness that I had attained since having H.

So I quit working out, and I quit trying to eat well.  Even though I knew it wasn’t what was best for me or for the sweet baby girl growing inside of me, I let myself slip.  And once I was on that slippery slope, things all went downhill from there.  I regret that for so many reasons.  One – delivery is SO hard when you’re not in shape.  If, in the rare event I ever get pregnant again, I will 100% commit to working out the entire time, just to help ease the labor of delivery.  Trust me- if you are pregnant, you WANT to be maintaining your current level of fitness. TRUST ME.  Two – after taking nine+ months off, you are essentially starting from the bottom again.  All the hard work I put in and all the miles I logged over the course of a few years before reaching my PR’s went out the window, and that’s really discouraging.  And three – running is such an important part of who I am, and that part of me was missing the entire time I was pregnant with M.  I love running, and I missed it dearly when I wasn’t doing it, even though just the thought of lacing up my shoelaces exhausted me.

Now that our little family is complete and things are starting to settle down at home, I’m looking forward to getting the fitness and nutrition aspects of my life back in order.  I’ve run a few races this summer just to gauge where I’m at and how hard I’m going to have to work to get to where I want to be, and let’s just say I have a LOT of work to do.  But, I’m determined to get it done, and I’m determined to have a great year of running in 2018 (is it too early to be making New Year’s running resolutions?!).  I want to be a healthy role model for my two young daughters, and I just want to feel like myself again.

With those two motivators in mind, I’m setting some simple goals for myself in the coming months.  My main goal is to commit to running twice per week.  One shorter run during the week, and one longer run on the weekend.  I’m also going to try to sneak a weight session in when possible, but I’m not going to beat myself up if it doesn’t happen regularly.  Eventually (once the baby starts sleeping through the night, hahaha), I plan to add an early-a.m. spinning sesh in there too.  Another goal is to clean my diet up.  A lot.  No more frozen pizza for lunch because it’s quick and easy.  No more putting off eating until I’m so hungry I’ll eat anything in front of me.  Meal prep is going to require more time planning and less time cooking now that I have little ones at home, so I’ll be on the lookout for easy/healthy meal prep ideas.

My ultimate goal?  To knock the socks off of the 2018 Pittsburgh half marathon in May (which I already signed up for!).  This is my favorite race of all time, and I have run it every year since 2011 except for this year.  All for a great reason, though– I was in the delivery room snuggling my new baby girl that day.  So I’m looking forward to returning in 2018 with, hopefully, a great finish time.

What are your current running and/or fitness goals?  Have you ever returned to running after having a baby?  Do you have any quick and easy healthy meal prep ideas?  

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Back at It

Leave a Reply

