It’s been a while…

Well folks, it’s been quite a while since my last blog post (over two years to be exact, but who’s counting?!).  I’m actually embarrassed that it’s been so long since I’ve written.  My only excuse is that life got in the way for a little while.

First, this happened:
IMG_0813

Then, a year of pinning, DIY-ing, and planning later, this happened:
10882178_690965932259_6163731281845147012_n.jpg

A few months afterwards, this happened:
IMG_1820

Which resulted in this happening shortly thereafter:
IMG_1954

Followed by life’s greatest blessing approximately 36 weeks later.  =)

Soooo needless to say, I’ve been pretty busy with a few things (blog writing not being one of them).  I did continue running through all of the life-craziness, though, and I managed to meet one of my biggest goals– successfully training for and running my first full marathon.  I ran the 2014 Pittsburgh Marathon with an official finish time of 4:39:12 (10:38 min/mile pace), which I was pretty happy with.

1609702_651901228239_5849210329838457742_n

Unfortunately, I probably won’t get around to writing a recap of the race just because it’s been nearly two years (I’m sad just writing that) and my memory doesn’t work that well anymore.  All I will say is that it was one of the most proud and invigorating moments of my life (second only to the birth of my beautiful daughter in October 2015), and I can’t wait to do it again in a few years when I have the free time in my life schedule to train for another full.

I also ran the 2015 Pittsburgh half marathon at 13 weeks pregnant!  It was my slowest half time ever, but I didn’t care at all– I was just happy to be able to continue running and remaining healthy as I started into this new and exciting phase of my life.

Anywho, I’m just getting back to running and working out at 13 weeks postpartum, and I thought this would be a great time to start blogging again.  So, I’m back. =)  And I’m really looking forward to sharing in my get-back-in-shape-as-a-new-mommy journey with all of you!  I’m already signed up for a few races this year (one being the Pittsburgh half marathon on May 1st, 2016; my favorite! 😉 ), so I’ll be keeping you posted on my training for that as well as a few others.  Here’s to a happy and fit 2016!!

 

 

4 thoughts on “It’s been a while…

Leave a Reply

