What I’m Eating This Week

It seems like it’s been forever since I’ve done a “What I’m Eating…” post.  Back when I was eating Paleo all the time, I was keeping my blog updated with my meals and my macros every week.  I’ll admit I’ve fallen off the proverbial-Paleo-bandwagon the past few months, and I’ve not been monitoring my nutrition quite as well as I should be.  I did a lot of running over the summer and the fall, so I was a little more relaxed with my diet.  Now that the temps have dropped, the days are shorter, and my races have slacked off, I’m not logging many miles.  Time to jump back on that nutrition bandwagon.  For the first time in a long time, I actually planned out my meals for the week and did meal prep on Sunday.  I’m not eating strictly Paleo right now (I’m planning to get back into that very soon, though), but I’m definitely making smarter food choices.  I’m also getting back into cross training (being more consistent with my weight training and going to spin class a few times a week) until full marathon training starts at the end of December!  Last night I went to my first spin class in months, and I felt absolutely great afterwards.  I’m really excited about getting into a more structured nutrition/fitness routine.  Here’s what I’ve been eating this week, if you’re looking for ideas:

Breakfast:  four egg whites scrambled with 4 oz. (pre-boiled) sweet potatoes, topped with salt, pepper, and lots and lots of ketchup.  =) Oh and coffee.  Can’t forget the coffee.
photo 3

9 am snack:  a handful of almonds and salted cucumbers (salt = bad; don’t follow my example!).  Oh and coffee.  Can’t forget the coffee.
photo 4

Lunch:  4 oz. lean ground turkey seasoned with low-sodium taco seasoning over a bed of spinach and topped with 1/4 of an avocado.  I also eat one Joseph’s pita bread for carbohydrates.  Yum.

[Oops.  I was so hungry, I forgot to take a picture!]

3 pm snack:  4 oz. sweet potato topped with 2 Tbsp. peanut butter and cinnamon.  Hey, don’t knock it ’til you try it!  I’m thoroughly convinced that you can top just about anything with pb, and it will taste 100% better.
photo 5

Dinner:  three egg whites and one whole egg scrambled with frozen mixed veggies.  Annnd topped with loads of ketchup.  I use pre-cut frozen veggies and cook them without defrosting before adding my eggs, which makes this a super-easy dinner for myself.
photo 2photo 1

If I’m hungry before bed (usually on heavy weight days), I’ll make a 4-egg-white “omelet” (whites, cinnamon, vanilla) filled with 1 Tbsp. peanut butter to eat at least an hour before bed.  Again– don’t knock it until you try it!  Egg whites are a practically-flavorless source of protein, so it’s not hard to concoct them into all sorts of yummy dishes.

So, there you have it– that’s what I’m chowing down on this week.  Lots of protein from eggs and lots of healthy fats.  Anyone care to share their healthy meal plans?? I’m always on the lookout for new ideas!!

Leave a Reply

