Special Delivery From Kindrunner, and My Brooks Versatile Low-Cut Socks Review!

I came home to a very nice surprise after work on Monday– a familiar-looking brown pouch from Kindrunner!!  I’ve mentioned before that I’m an Ambassador for www.kindrunner.com.  The folks at Kindrunner were nice enough to have tech shirts printed for the Ambassadors to wear on their runs and races!!  I was so pumped when mine came in the mail!

IMG_0419

I’m looking forward to wearing my shirt to some upcoming races and, hopefully, answering some questions about all the great initiatives that Kindrunner is doing for the running community.  If you aren’t familiar with Kindrunner’s mission, you can read about it here.

Also in my package– a new pair of Brooks running socks to try out!  How exciting!!

IMG_0415

These are the Brooks Versatile Low-Cut Sock, which come in 3-packs for $15.  Here’s a link to them on the Brooks Running website.

If you follow me at all, you know that I’m always open to trying out new running socks now that Nike discontinued my previously-favorite model.

Of course I had to try them on right away.

IMG_0416

My first impression was that they were super-comfy and extremely soft– more comfortable than the socks I wear every day (I might have to buy a pair just for everyday use!).  My second impression was that they were much thicker and cushioned than the Balegas I’m now used to wearing.  I wasn’t sure if they would be a good match for my Saucony Kinvara running shoes, which are thin and ultra lightweight.  But of course I had to give them a try.

Last evening, my boyfriend and I decided to go on a four-mile run on the trail in a local state park, and I decided it would be the perfect distance to try out my new socks!  Long enough to get a feel for the socks’ performance, but not so long that any minor problems would become major problems.  As I said, I was skeptical as they were thicker/more cushioned than my usual socks, and I’ve been in a “more-minimal-than-not” stage for a while now.

I must say, though, that these socks really didn’t feel much different than my thinner socks.  I actually forgot throughout the run that I was trying out new socks– which is a good thing!  I didn’t even know they were there.  So, as far as comfort goes, they felt super comfy to me– even in my thin/lightweight shoes.  A+ in that department!

The temperature during last night’s run was in the 50’s– which is one of the coldest runs I’ve had yet this fall.  One thing I noticed was that (unlike my arms & hands) my feet did not get cold at all, despite the fact that the walls of my shoes are made of a lightweight, mesh-y fabric.  Soooo– although I was skeptical when I first put on these socks, I’m thinking they might actually be better than my thinner socks for fall and winter running.  I hate cold feet!!  I also hate hot feet, so I probably wouldn’t wear them during the hot summer months or on really long runs.  But for fall and winter jogs, I’m thinking these might be the perfect sock to wear with my thin-walled shoes!!  I’m planning to put them on any time the temperature is chilly this fall or freezing this winter.  I’m glad I found them (or they found me, rather) for that reason!

What kind of running socks are your favorite??

Have you used Kindrunner’s Kindness Cash Rewards Program yet?

Leave a Reply

