Fun Fitness Survey!

fitness survey

1. What did you eat for breakfast?

Today I had two eggs over easy on whole wheat toast with 1/2 grapefruit (I haven’t been following my Paleo diet lately).  And TWO cups of coffee.  Of course.

2. How much water do you drink a day?

I can’t guess a quantity, but I try to drink water all day long– so I’d have to say I drink “enough.”  My glass is never empty!  Hydration is very important, especially if you’re an active person.  Plus drinking water all day long at work ensures I’m up and moving away from my desk on a regular basis, if you know what I mean.

3. What is your current favorite workout?

RUNNING is always my favorite workout, although I personally don’t consider that a “workout” in the traditional sense– I do it for more reasons than just to stay physically fit.  I’d have to say that Spinning is my favorite “workout”– it’s challenging and it burns tons of calories.  The accompanying music is what makes it the most fun, in my opinion.

4. How many calories do you eat a day?

I haven’t been counting lately, but I usually aim for 1500-1700 a day when I’m adamant about planning and counting.

5. What are your favorite healthy snacks?

Anything with any kind of nuts or nut butters!!  My current favorite is 4 ounces of sweet potato topped with 1-2 T. of chunky peanut butter and cinnamon, all washed down with a strong cup of coffee.  Don’t knock it ’til you’ve tried it!

6. What do you usually eat for lunch?

It changes often.  The past few weeks I’ve been stuck on eating a grilled Greek chicken salad every day.  I usually aim for a mix of lean protein (chicken, tuna, ground turkey) with a mix of vegetables.  Sometimes I throw a starchy carb into the mix.

IMG_0219

7. What is your favorite body part to strength train?

I LOVE back day!  Shoulder day is right up there with my favorites, too. I think it’s because my back and shoulder muscles develop more quickly and easily than any of my other muscle groups.

8. What is your least favorite body part to strength train?

Leg day.  I DESPISE leg day.  But I do know that it’s a necessary evil, so I strive to train my legs regularly regardless.

9. What are your “bad” food cravings?

Pizza.  Any kind of pizza.  I basically grew up on nothing but pizza, so it’s been a hard food to give up even after eating clean for so long.  I do give in to my cravings every-now-and-then; I don’t see anything wrong with treating yourself every once in a while.

10. Do you take vitamins or supplements?

My vitamin/supplement-taking patterns are so irregular.  I go through periods where I have to spend five minutes counting and swallowing pills every morning; other times I go for weeks at a time taking nothing.  Some of my regular vitamins and supplements are a women’s multivitamin, vitamin D, vitamin B12, fish oil, and a hair/skin/nails complex.  I also take glutamine after my strength training sessions.

11. How often do you eat out?

My boyfriend and I like to go out to eat, so I do eat out a few times a week.  I always try to make the healthiest decisions when eating out, though, and I’m never a stranger to making specific requests to ensure I don’t end up with a fat- or calorie-laden meal.  I love restaurant salads and wraps.

12. Do you eat fast food?

The only fast food that I eat is Subway, and that’s only when I’m in a pinch.  Their subs, although generally touted as “healthy,” still aren’t what anyone could consider as clean.

13. Who is your biggest supporter?

I’d have to say my boyfriend.  A lot of the people in my life don’t understand my exercise habits and are quick to criticize; he’s always very supportive of any goal that I set for myself.  He really enjoys being active, too, so the fact that we share that common trait means we are supportive of each other.

My poodles are my second biggest supporters, though.  They are always right there with me when I exercise at home.  😉

14. Do you have a gym membership?

I used to have TWO gym memberships (which was running me about $90 a month; yikes)… I’ve recently downsized and am participating in a program sponsored by the health insurance I receive through my employer called Healthways Fitness Your Way.  For one super-low monthly membership fee, I have full access to tons of gyms throughout the country.  I only take advantage of two gyms right now– one for strength training and one for spin class– but it’s nice to know that I always have options no matter where I am.

15. How many hours of sleep do you get a night?

During the week I only get about 6 hours of sleep; I usually get 8-9 on the weekends.  I know it’s important to get enough sleep (especially if you work out often), but it’s hard to fit it all in during the week!

16. Do you have a “cheat” day?

I don’t have a designated “cheat” day.  If I feel like cheating on a meal here-and-there, I let myself (see #9 above).  I feel like eating clean has changed my perspective on food– I don’t crave crappy foods too often anymore.  So the idea of a “cheat day” isn’t even that appealing to me!

17. Do you drink alcohol?

I do love a cold, refreshing beer every now and again– especially after a race or other tough run!  Plus, there’s evidence to suggest that beer helps with post-running inflammation, so it’s really a win-win situation.  =)

2

18. Do you have a workout buddy?

My bestest running friend Emily is my designated workout partner!  We’ve been known to run and spin together pretty often.  Ok, all the time.  I do work out with my boyfriend and my brother on occasion, too.

19. What is the best thing that has changed about your life since committing to a healthy lifestyle?

Oh my, do I really have to choose just one thing?!  Committing to a healthy lifestyle has changed my life in so many ways; it has truly been the primary influence in making me the person that I am today.  I guess the best change would have to be all the things I’ve learned about myself by being active and healthy.  I’ve learned that I’m more capable than I ever thought possible– that I can push the limits until I break them, that I can do anything I set my mind to, that I can be better than I ever thought I could be.  This has permeated my entire personality and given me the self-confidence I need to take on anything that life throws my way.

20. What was the last healthy thing you did?

Last night I went on a 5-mile run with my bestest running friend Emily and my bestest little brother!!

photo

Now it’s your turn!!!  Feel free to repost the questions above.  And make sure you link up your post to She Cooks, She Crafts, She Runs— I wanna read everyone else’s responses! =) 

Leave a Reply

