A Light Lunch: Super Easy Greek Salad

It’s been a while since I’ve posted any “What I’m Eating This Week” posts. The reason I haven’t been posting them regularly is because I’ve been eating a lot of the same things from week-to-week. With summer (finally) being here, life has been a bit hectic and experimenting with new-and-different recipes hasn’t taken much priority in my schedule! I’ve still been eating clean and Paleo for the most part, but I’ve been following similar meal plans to those that I’ve posted in the past.

I did mix things up a bit this week, though, so I wanted to share this week’s lunch plan with you! For some strange reason, I couldn’t get artichokes out of my head last week. I was really craving them. Anybody else get weird cravings like that?  Sometimes when those cravings scream your name, you have to answer.  Anyways, I decided that a healthy Greek salad in my lunch this week would hit the spot.

I chopped up some romaine lettuce to use as a base, then added sliced cucumbers, kalamata olives, diced red onions, feta cheese (oops this isn’t Paleo– I’ve already forgiven myself), and canned ARTICHOKES!  The only other perfect addition I can think of would be tomatoes.  I didn’t have any on hand this week, though, but my salad tasted fine without them!

IMG_0213

I try to use cut-up heads of romaine lettuce instead of pre-bagged, when possible.

I topped the salad with some baked chicken breasts.  I used McCormick Perfect Pinch Mediterranean Herb to season my before baking– I thought it was appropriate for a Greek salad.  =)

IMG_0217

One of my favorite dressings is Maple Grove Farms Fat Free Balsamic Vinaigrette.  This dressing is healthy, tasty, and (at $2.50 a bottle), cheap!

IMG_0219

I just had this salad for lunch, and it really did hit the artichoke-craving spot.  Next time maybe I’ll add some (also non-Paleo) whole grain pita slices to complement it.  Yum.

I realize that this salad “recipe” is nothing monumental, but it’s a simple idea for a healthy, clean lunch.  And sometimes those are hard to come by!  So I wanted to share my simple, clean, healthy lunch idea with you.  =)

What’s your go-to healthy lunch idea??

One thought on “A Light Lunch: Super Easy Greek Salad

  1. Pingback: Fun Fitness Survey! | Cristi Rae

Leave a Reply

