What I’m Eating This Week (5.13.2013)

After a very eye-opening non-Paleo week last week, I was determined to stick to a super-clean, super-Paleo diet when I was planning out my meals for this week.  I’ve made it to hump day (wahoo!) with only a few mishaps in following my meal schedule, and I already feel so much better than I did last week (at least the bloating in my tummy has gone down a bit!  yikes!).  Here’s a peek at my meals this week (I’m keeping things ultra-simple):

Mid-morning almonds... yum, yum, yum

Mid-morning almonds… yum, yum, yum

Ground turkey with mushrooms, garlic, salt, pepper, and avocado for lunch.

Ground turkey with mushrooms, garlic, salt, pepper, and avocado for lunch.

Spinach leaves with just a dash of balsamic vinegar.  Hello health superfood!

Spinach leaves with just a dash of balsamic vinegar. Hello health superfood!

A small sweet potato topped with delic homemade almond butter and cinnamon. One of my new favorites!

A small sweet potato topped with delic homemade almond butter and cinnamon. One of my new favorites!  (p.s. It’s smaller than it looks, I promise!)

Here’s the rest of my meal plan and very approximate nutritional values:

Calories Fat  Protein Carbs
Pre-Workout:
1 slice Ezekiel toast with 1 Tbsp almond butter 175 9 7 19
Post-Workout:
4 egg whites 64 0 16 0
Medium banana 105 0 1 27
Snack
20 almonds 140 11 7 4
Cucumbers
 
Lunch
Turkey burger with grilled mushrooms & onions & 1/4 avocado 290 15 25 11
Mixed greens with balsamic vinegar
Snack
4 oz yams 132 0 2 32
2T. almond butter 190 16 6 8
Dinner
Veggie Omelet (1 w/yolk, 3 whites) 128 5 17 1
Mushrooms 40 0 4 6
Green pepper 33 0 2 5
 
Snack
4 egg whites 64 0 16 0
2T. almond butter 190 16 6 8
TOTALS 1551 72 109 121
24% 36% 40%

Also, on a totally unrelated note, I won a blog GIVEAWAY this past week!!  I got a FitBit, a food scale, a Fitbook, and a super-cute carrying bag from Denise over at Run DMT!!!  Thanks Denise!!

I’ve always wanted a FitBit and a food scale, but have never broken down and bought either– I guess things happen for a reason! =)  This was the first time that I’ve heard of a Fitbook.  Once I received it and took a look through it, I couldn’t WAIT to start using it!!  It’s basically the most detailed health & fitness log you could ever ask for– the first few pages ask you to write down the details of your goals over the following twelve weeks, and the rest of the book is a daily log of your goals, meals, & activities.  If you have trouble keeping yourself accountable to your health/diet/fitness goals, this book will do the trick!  I love it so far!

My winnings!

My winnings!

I can't wait to use this food scale.  It's both functional + fashionable!!

I can’t wait to use this food scale. It’s both functional + fashionable!!

A sample page from the Fitbook.

A sample page from the Fitbook.

Is anyone eating any exciting clean and/or Paleo foods this week?

How do you keep yourselves accountable to your health & fitness goals??

Leave a Reply

