The Easiest Way to Shred Chicken

Last week, I found a recipe I really wanted to try that called for shredded chicken breast.  It then occurred to me that, although I have spent a lot of time in the kitchen, I had no clue how to make chicken that would shred easily.  I’ve made chicken recipes in the slow cooker that would just shred on its own, but that always required the chicken to be completely immersed in some kind of liquid.  And I knew that pan frying or baking wouldn’t work.

So I turned to my dear friend Google (seriously, what would I do without the internet?!?).  I found a technique that shredded my chicken perfectly, so I wanted to share my new-found knowledge with you.  Here’s how you do it:

  1. Bring a pot of water (enough to completely immerse your chicken breasts) to a boil on high heat.
  2. (Carefully!) place your chicken breasts in the boiling water.
  3. Boil the chicken just until it’s no longer pink.  This takes about twenty minutes or so.  Unless you’re a rubbery-chicken-breast fan, don’t overcook it.
  4. Move your chicken breasts to a plate, and use two forks to shred it.

Voilà! There you have it.  Juicy, shredded chicken breasts ready for whatever yummy creation you’ve come up with.

Grilled chicken is a clean eater’s best friend– it’s packed full of healthy, lean protein in exchange for a relatively low calorie count.  I know from experience that eating chicken grilled in a pan or baked in the oven can get really boring really quickly.  I don’t care much for chicken prepared this way because it can be difficult to prevent it from drying out.

And that’s the reason I wanted to share this with you– because I know as a healthy eater, grilled chicken can get to be a drag.  With moist, juicy, shredded chicken and a little imagination, you can come up with all sorts of tasty recipes to keep your taste buds entertained (and your jeans fitting nicely).

I’m already trying to think of different add-ins I can put with my grilled chicken to make a complete meal.

Do you cook with shredded chicken??  If so, how do you use it??

Leave a Reply

