What I’m Eating This Week (4.29.2013)

If you’ve been following my posts recently, you’ll know that I’ve been eating Paleo on a tight budget.  Not only am I trying to save money, but I’m also trying to use up some of the food I already have so that it doesn’t go to waste!

When I was coming up with my meal plan, I tried to keep in mind the foods that I already had in my kitchen.  But then I found an awesome recipe on PaleOMG.com that I absolutely HAD to try–Honey Mustard Crunchy Chicken Plantain Salad!  I saw the picture pop up on my Facebook news feed, and I knew I had to put it on my meal plan ASAP.

I didn’t have all of the ingredients to make the salad on hand, but I only had to buy a few inexpensive things– so it didn’t drive my grocery bill up too high.  I only ended up spending about $20 at WalMart for groceries– not too shabby!!

My Rendition of PaleOMG's

My Rendition of PaleOMG’s Honey Mustard Crunchy Chicken Plantain Salad

I’m so glad that I decided to try this recipe– it turned out to be AMAZING.  It’s definitely a keeper on my clean-eats-meal-planning-list.

Do you ever crave strange food combinations and you have no idea why?  Well, the strangest idea struck me when I was planning my meals for this week.  I wanted to have a sweet potato smothered in almond butter for my mid-afternoon snack in the worst way.  So, that’s what I decided to do.  I ended up putting cinnamon & raisins on it too (an impromptu alteration that’s not included on my meal plan below).  Strange.  But it sure is tasty.

If you’re like me, though, you could put almond butter on top of just-about-anything and it would make it amazing.  So maybe this isn’t so strange after all.  Maybe.

Here’s the rest of what I’m eating this week, along with approximate nutritional values:

Calories Fat  Protein Carbs
Pre-Workout
Little B’s Sweet Potato Pancakes 201 0 23 24
 
Post-Workout
4 egg whites 64 0 16 0
Medium banana 105 0 1 27
Snack
20 almonds 140 11 7 4
Cucumbers 45 0 2 11
Lunch
Honey Mustard Crunchy Chicken Plantain Salad 387 16.5 24 42
Snack
4 oz yams 132 0 2 32
1T. almond butter 95 8 3 4
Dinner
Paleo Tuna Patties (howichow.com) 240 7 28 5
Steamed Green Beans 30 0 1 5
Snack
4 egg whites 64 0 16 0
1T. almond butter 95 8 3 4
TOTALS 1598 50.5 126 158
15% 38% 47%
One thought on “What I’m Eating This Week (4.29.2013)

Leave a Reply

