What I’m Eating This Week (4.22.2013)

FIRST OFF I would like to note that the butter on the right-hand side of my “featured image” for this post is for my not-so-clean-eating family when they come to visit.  It’s not for me, I promise!!  Now that I have that out of the way…

It’s been about 11 weeks since I went “Paleo” with my meal planning, and I must say I do feel much better.  I have more energy than I used to have, and I find that my clothes fit consistently now (not as much dairy/grain-induced bloating).  Plus, I’m pretty sure all those beta-carotene-rich sweet potatoes I’ve been eating have given me a little bit of a head start on my summer tan.  Added bonus!  Wahoo! =)

If you read my last post, you know that I’m trying to keep my grocery budget as low as cleanly, paleolithic-ally possible.  Now that the weather’s finally looking like spring outside, I also would like to spend less time in the grocery store & kitchen on Sunday afternoons.  So with this week’s meal planning, my goal was to come up with a menu based on foods I already have in my kitchen (or that I could buy in bulk and easily store) that also don’t take much time to prep.

Here’s what I came up with (along with the usual approximate nutrition info).  I stole my lunch idea from the Little B’s Healthy Habits site.  =)

Calories Fat  Protein Carbs
Breakfast
4 oz yams 132 0 2 32
5 egg whites 80 0 20 0
Snack
20 almonds 140 11 7 4
Cucumbers 45 0 2 11
Lunch
Ground turkey (taco seasoned), spinach, hot sauce 170 8 21 0
Avocado (1/5 of medium) 50 5 0 3
Sweet potato fries 98 1 2 21
Snack
4 oz yams 132 0 2 32
2T. almond butter 190 16 6 8
Dinner
Tilapia (4 oz.) with Mrs. Dash Fiesta Lime Seasoning 147 3 30 0
Steamed Green Beans 30 0 1 5
Snack
4 egg whites 64 0 16 0
2T. almond butter 190 16 6 8
TOTALS 1468 60 115 124
20% 38% 41%
"Taco" salad made with turkey, (homemade) taco seasoning, spinach, and avocado... pretty and tasty!

“Taco” salad made with turkey, (homemade) taco seasoning, spinach, and avocado… pretty and tasty!

Gotta have my sweet potato fries

Gotta have my sweet potato fries

Leave a Reply

