What I’m Eating This Week (3.4.13)

I’m now well into the FitnessMap workout program (week 8 out of 12!) trying to put on some lean muscle. A clean diet is key when trying to lean out and gain muscle (Tosca Reno suggests that diet accounts for 80% of your body composition and what you do in the gym is only 20%), so I’m trying to keep my diet as strict as possible to the 40/40/20 ratio suggested by my workout program.  I’m also three whole weeks into eating Paleo.  Woohoo!  As mentioned in my earlier post, I’m not super-duper strict when it comes to following the Paleo eating style, but I am giving it a good shot.  And I feel sooo much better for it.

My meals don’t change much from week-to-week.  Sometimes it’s nice to just stick with what I know works.  With all my excitement in learning about this new way of eating, though, I’ve decided I want to try to incorporate at least one new Paleo recipe this week.  I’ve found lots of sites that have so many delicious-looking, clean, Paleo-style recipes.  This week’s “new” recipe comes from the Civilized CavemanHickory Smoked Pulled Pork.

Civilized Caveman's Hickory Smoked Pulled Pork

Civilized Caveman’s Hickory Smoked Pulled Pork

I made this in the slow cooker this weekend with a pork tenderloin roast (a lean cut of pork), and I think it’s delicious!!  I top it with a little bit of “Dinosaur Roasted Garlic Honey Bar-B-Que Sauce” which seems clean to me– believe it or not, I found it at Wal-Mart!  My local Wal-Mart has been impressing me lately with their growing selection of clean foods.

Dinosaur Roasted Garlic Honey Bar-B-Que Sauce

Dinosaur Roasted Garlic Honey Bar-B-Que Sauce

Here’s what I’m eating this week.  Please keep in mind that my nutrition information is approximate!!!

Calories Fat  Protein Carbs
Pre-Workout:
Yam Protein Muffins (2) 140 0 14 20
Post-Workout:
4 egg whites 64 0 16 0
Medium banana 105 0 1 27
Snack
3 hard boiled eggs 233 17 20 2
green peppers 33 0 2 5
Lunch
Smoked Pulled Pork (Civilized Caveman Cooking Creations) (4 oz.) 230 9 0 34
Cucumbers 45 0 2 11
Sweet potato fries 98 1 2 21
Snack
Yam Protein Muffins (2) 140 0 14 20
1T. almond butter 95 8 3 4
Dinner
Tilapia (4 oz.) with Mrs. Dash Fiesta Lime Seasoning 147 3 30 0
Roasted Portabella Mushroom Cap 25 1 5 3
Snack
4 egg whites 64 0 16 0
1T. almond butter 95 8 3 4
TOTALS 1514 47 128 151
14% 39% 46%
Leave a Reply

