What I’m Eating This Week

I’ve striven to eat healthily for a long time now (calorie-counting, low-carb-eating, you name it), but it’s been about two years since I started eating “clean.”  Once I picked up a copy of Tosca Reno’s infamous book and started living by its principles, I never looked back.  If you’re interested in learning about clean eating or just getting started, I highly recommend picking up one of Tosca’s books and/or spending some time at the “Kitchen Table” on her website.  The Kitchen Table is full of great resources for both beginner and seasoned clean eaters (best of all– the info is 100% free).  I’m by no means a perfectly clean eater– I slip up treat myself occasionally and like to enjoy a few cold beverages on the weekends.  But for the most part, my diet is generally clean.  Eating clean has given me energy like I’ve never had before, and it has had profound effects on the shape of my body even when I don’t work out as regularly as I should.  It’s amazing to me how our bodies respond to the food we put into them.  Although sometimes life happens and it doesn’t always happen this way, I try to plan a week’s worth of meals ahead of time and spend my Sundays preparing food.  Not only does this cut down majorly on time spent cooking during the week (which is super important if you work a full-time job like me), but it also leaves you prepared (from a healthy-nutrition standpoint, at least) for any unforeseen circumstances that come up during the week.  I never have to worry about which fast food joint my next lunch is coming from whenever I have my lunches pre-prepared for the week.  I eat about six times per day, about three hours apart.  Eating that often was soooo difficult for me to get used to at first, but now I can’t go more than 4 hours without eating without becoming ravenously hungry.  If you make me miss a meal, you better be prepared to see my ugly side! haha.  I’m currently following the FitnessMap training plan offered by James Wilson – Faith, Family and Fitness (which I HIGHLY recommend), which recommends using a 40/40/20 protein/carb/fat macro ratio, so that’s what I’ve been trying to stick to.  Also, starting last week, I decided to give the Paleo diet a whirl– so you’ll notice my meal plan includes limited carbs & dairy.  Here’s what I’m eating this week along with approximate nutrition info:

Calories Fat Protein Carbs
Pre-Workout:
Little B’s Yam Protein Muffins (2) 140 0 14 20
Post-Workout:
4 egg whites 64 0 16 0
Medium banana 105 0 1 27
Snack
20 almonds 140 11 7 4
Sliced green peppers 33 0 2 5
Lunch
Turkey burger with grilled mushrooms & onions & 1/4 avocado 290 15 25 11
Cucumbers 45 0 2 11
Sweet potato fries 98.25 1.25 1.75 20.5
Snack
Little B’s Yam Protein Muffins (2) 140 0 14 20
1T. almond butter 95 8 3 4
Dinner
10 Minute Low Carb Chili  (From Caveman Creations) 229 9 33 2.25
Steamed green beans 30 0 1 5
Snack
4 egg whites 64 0 16 0
1T. almond butter 95 8 3 4
TOTALS 1568.25 52.25 138.75 129.75
16% 43% 40%

This is today’s lunch– absolutely delicious!!

Lunch!

Be sure to give me any feedback you might have on my meal plan!!  I’m no meal-planning expert, and am always interested in learning more about nutrition.

Thanks for reading.  =)

One thought on “What I’m Eating This Week

  1. Pingback: February in Review – Massages & Half Marathons | Cristi Rae

Leave a Reply

